South Transdanubia Regional Branch

Its territory embraces the counties Baranya, Tolna, Somogy, Zala, and Vas. Priority activties are: presentation of the geological setting of Transdanubia, improving geological knowledge of the members by means of professionally guided field trips. Every year are arranged a full-day session at Pécs in spring, and a Geoscientific Conference at Nagykanizsa in autumn. Professional and popularizing lectures are held, e.g. about the Bátaapáti Radioactive Waste Depository Project, and visits to mines are organized.

The South Transdanubian Branch has close cooperation with the Hungarian Museum of Oil Industry, and develops contacts with the geologists of Croatia. It created GEOCLUB which organizes field trips, lectures, professional consultations.

The Direction in the 2015-2018 period:
Gábor Hámos
Secretary: Virág Dályay
Direction members : Ferenc Fedor, Csaba Kasztl, László Kovács, Zoltán Máthé
Substitutes: József Csicsák, Zsolt Horváth

The Direction in the 2013-2015 period:
President: Gábor Hámos
Secretary: Virág Dályay
Direction members: Zoltán Máthé, Szilveszter Lukács, László Gombor, András Barabás, Ferenc Fedor, László Kovács                          
Direction substitutes: Csaba Kasztl, Ferenc Kaszás, János Kovács, Viktor Jáger



Previous direction:
President: Zsolt Horváth
Secretary: Zsolt Bodorkós
Direction members: András Barabás, Géza Chikán, József Csicsák, Ferenc Fedor, Gábor Hámos, László Gombor,Krisztina Sebe, János Kraft, Tibor Szederkényi, Ferenc Kaszás, Zoltán Máthé, Zoltánné Sütő